You Can Look, But Don’t Touch

Dr Victoria Powell
8 min readNov 16, 2023

The ‘thingness’ of art, and finding meaning in materiality

Sarah Lucas, Chicken Knickers (1997).

Listen to this as a podcast on Spotify or Apple, or search for The Gallery Companion on your podcast player.

I suppose I shouldn’t really admit this, but sometimes I find looking at art in big galleries not terribly enjoyable. There’s something formulaic about the presentation of art in most of these traditional museum settings that can send me straight into a zombie-like daze: it’s the overwhelming number of artworks to look at in room after room of white walls and high ceilings, and the blurb on the walls that you know you should read but as soon as you try to a yawn starts to come and your eyes glaze over. Engaging art can get lost in the endlessness of it all.

I’ve been thinking this week about some of the exhibitions I’ve seen recently. Which artworks have stopped me in my tracks, and why? Of course what has impact or resonance or meaning is personal to each of us based on our own individual histories, experiences, and ways of looking at the world.

--

--

Dr Victoria Powell

I write about art, history, politics & culture, without the confusing art speak. Crazy about dogs. Victorian historian. 19th-century gentleman in a former life.